Lovely Friday…

Just watched two very good films. I felt as though I had fallen in love.

Ciaran Hinds in Persuasion

Ciaran Hinds in Persuasion


Not once but twice. Leaving me giddy and happy with all the world. You can’t fault a movie for being a joy…but what good is my opinion if I can’t share these two delights with the world.
First is the film Persuasion, made in 1995 it is an adaptation of Jane Austen’s book of the same name. As is her usual custom Ms. Austen’s men (the noble and the wicked) make for great eye candy.

The second film is A Star is Born.

Judy Garland from  A Star is Born

Judy Garland from A Star is Born


I assumed many things about this movie prior to seeing it. Growing up post-Lolita (Kubrick’s film) I have never quite warmed to James Mason. I’m sorry to say that I thought that it would be impossible to find James Mason either attractive nor as equal suited to Judy.
James Mason as Norman Maine in A Star is Born

James Mason as Norman Maine in A Star is Born


I could not be more wrong. His love for her, the charm of his courtship…its undeniable. To love this movie is to also love Norman Maine.
If that is not persuasive enough the music, the songs will stop you in their tracks. There is nothing quite so lovely as “The Man that Got Away.”

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

