A New Infatuation

I love to read. I am prone to reading some dull books.

source
I have bookshelves lined with works great and small that bear bookmarks only halfway through. I may love to read but I will not read unless I am passionate about the work.
Which brings me to my most recent Christmas gift, Love is a Mix Tape: Life and Loss, One Song at a Time by Rob Sheffield.

There is much that could be said about this book. But I think Rob does a great job selling himself. I add here a brief excerpt from the first chapter. I may finish this book tonight. I cannot put it down.

“This mix tape is just another piece of useless junk that Renee left behind. A category that I guess tonight includes me.

I should have gone to sleep hours ago. Instead, I was rummaging through old boxes, looking for some random paperwork, and I found this tape with her curly scribble on the label. She never played this one for me. She didn’t write down the songs, so I have no idea what’s in store. But I can already tell it’s going to be a late night. It always is. I pop Rumblefish into my Panasonic RXC36 boombox on the kitchen counter, pour some more coffee, and let the music have its way with me. It’s a date. Just me and Renee and some tunes she picked out.”

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

