Magic Man

Going to school was never much fun for me. College may have its perks but it is hard work. I love to read but I learn from experience not from theory. So education was a constant struggle. One professor would lecture that after college we would find a mentor and everything we’ve learned will come to fruition.

That always pissed me off. Thousands of dollars. Mountains of debt. So that someday in my distant future I would meet someone who would scrape these elements into a whole. Gee, lucky me.

Having said that I came across this article about Ernest Hemingway. I adore Hemingway’s short stories. The more I read the more I want to write and create. In a very short amount of time (little over two months) I have become absolutely obsessed with his prose.

I wonder if it is possible to have a posthumous mentor?

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

