DIY Beauty Tip

I knit, felt, and play with a lot of paper which means my hands are continually stripped of their moisture and thus prone to damage. Being crafty takes its toil on the hands. But all of that stress is a reminder to take a break and pamper yourself.

I used to purchase expensive body scrubs, oil treatments, exotic butters. Those things are too expensive for me now. So I have a little trick I like to employ.

Whenever I stop by Target I love to visit their dollar section. One of my favorite purchases is a little bottle of Vaseline. I use white sugar for this but you could also use sea salt (I cook a lot) or basic iodized salt which ever you pick measure out a tablespoon.

Take a small dollop of the vaseline; plop in the palm of your hand.
Sprinkle the granulated sugar over the vaseline.
Over a sink drain rub the sugar into the vaseline.
Then rub the mixture over your palm, fingers, hand.
Turn on the faucet and wash the crystals away.
Towel dry your hands sparingly.

A little exfoliation goes a long way but by adding a little bit of moisture the hands are refreshed. In a perfect world I would be using olive oil instead of vaseline, alas even olive oil is too expensive for me.
I’ve tried this with a decent hand creme, it can work but you will have to reapply the hand creme after towel drying.

I’ve got work waiting for me.

Have a great Friday!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “DIY Beauty Tip

  1. Aimee says:

    great tip – for some reason people seem to think I need body butters because I have tons of them given to me, but when they run out I’ll absolutely employ this idea – fab on a budget!

    x
    Aimee

  2. rxanna says:

    Oh I adore body butter! Sometimes I visit my favorite store The Body Shop just to take a quick sniff of my favorite ones.
    If I could afford the luxury I would indulge.

    These friends or family members are wonderful to spoil you so. 🙂

Leave a Reply

