Knit Flix: Audrey Edition

This weekend I was feeling a little romantic. I decided to watch Billy Wilder‘s Love in the Afternoon and the musical Funny Face. You could say I picked these two movies because I long to go to Paris.
You’d be right.

LOVE IN THE AFTERNOON
This is one of my favorite Billy Wilder movies. I originally saw a commercial for it on Turner Classic Movie network. Something about the dim ambience and the closeness of Gary Cooper convinced me to watch the first 15 minutes.

This movie is a lot of fun. Audrey is so young and Wilder creates a fun escapade. She is an innocent girl who falls in love with a ladie’s man. She invents a lurid past for herself and his jealousy gets the better of him.

Their love is silly and fun. I can’t help but laugh when I see this film. Its a movie that speaks to the heart of a shy dreamer. If you’re in the need for some romance you need to put this movie on your Netflix queue because it will melt your heart.

FUNNY FACE

This movie on the other hand is just campy fun! I think the start of this movie can be a bit too much for anyone not accustomed to musicals.

That said I adore this movie. Audrey becomes an American model and goes on location in Paris. I would watch any film that creates a plot in which Audrey Hepburn must wear several gorgeous outfits. There is nothing Audrey can’t do. She sings, she dances and she cries.

The tears are a bit hard to take but it all ends well. I adore the scene where Fred Astaire dances with Audrey outside a chapel. Its heavenly.

Both of these movies were the perfect escape. Sure I didn’t get much work done while Audrey was on the screen but that was fine by me.

I just love Audrey Hepburn. I hope you enjoy your weekend! I’ll be back on Sunday for a fun interview.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Knit Flix: Audrey Edition

  1. rachel! says:

    ohhh, they look so good. they sound so good. she looks so good. ohh, i want to watch more of her. beautiful!

Leave a Reply

