Sunday Quickie

I am excited to introduce a new feature to my blog!

I’m lucky. Everyday I come across very talented Etsy sellers. I thought it would be nice to get a chance to actually ask one of them a few questions.

I met Rebecca from RITZEE REBEL through our mutual Etsy Street team. I was absolutely charmed by her products.
Here goes.

You’ve mentioned in your shop that you’ve sold goods elsewhere, what started you down the path to create?

I started making felt pins in mid-2008. I came across a felt pin set online and I fell in love. I have been a crafty person since I was little so I decided it was something I wanted to try to create myself. I’ve also had an obsession with cupcakes. I started out with a few cupcake pins in different colors.

Vanilla Cupcake by RitzeeRebel

I liked how they turned out and I had received a lot of compliments from friends and family. So I decided to try to sell them. I started out on Ebay but I knew that Etsy was a great site to sell handmade items. I had been a buyer so it made sense to start a shop on Etsy.

I sometimes find that I absorb inspiration from the strangest of places. How do you feed your creative muse?

I get inspiration from everyday items. Sometimes its foods I like, the weather, and even my makeup bag (in the case of my lipstick pin). I always think of “cute” things I’d love to see in stores.

Ice Cream Cone Pins by RitzeeRebel

I always search around in stores or online to see if something similar has been made. Most of the time, nothing exists that looks exactly how I want it to so I make one the way I want it!
I love color and fun things and try to make that apparent in my creations.

Do you sometimes create something so cute you find yourself making one just for yourself?

Haha, I always do! I keep samples of all of my items so I have one to use myself. Lately I’ve found myself wearing my bow hair clips a lot and I’m even going to wear my shamrock clip on St. Patrick’s Day!

Since I make things I want to see in stores but can’t find, it’s important for me to keep one of everything for myself so I can wear just the thing I hoped to find!

Thank you Rebecca for taking the time to participate in this bite sized interview.

Make sure you get something eat before you visit her Flickr page. Her felt goods will make you hungry.

You can find Ritzee Rebel on her blog, on twitter and of course her Etsy shop.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Sunday Quickie

  1. slovie64 says:

    How adorable! I love when I see new and unique ways people find to be creative!

  2. Ah, thank you so much for this, I love how it turned out. Great job!

  3. rachel! says:

    oh, how fun! it was short & sweet and i loved it!
    her stuff is so cute!

Leave a Reply

