Knit Flix: Working Girls edition

I have been so busy working that I think about work even when I’m trying to relax. These two movies are campy fun but they are also about identity. Which is something I’ve come to grapple with as I struggle to make a business for myself.

That is not to say that these are heavy dramatic movies. Far from it.

9 to 5 (1980)

Growing up both my parents worked. Something about having a job seemed so glamorous. My first office job as an adult was such a strangely satisfying feeling. Answering a phone seemed like an achievement.

I blame my grandmother. She was a secretary. She used to bring me and my brother to her office. Having strong women like my mom and my grandmother left an indelible impression on me.

I knew as a child that I wanted to have a career. They were multifaceted women who did what they had to in order to take care of their kids. I think that when I see this film I am reminded that a woman can do anything if she just puts her mind to it.

Even hog tie her boss.

To Wong Foo, Thanks for Everything! Julie Newmar (1995)

I adore the opening sequence to this movie. I saw this film when I was starting to go to Junior High School. I was new to makeup and being a girl.

Gotta say I wish I had had an Auntie Vida to help me with my makeup. I would have looked fierce back then. Back then I was prone to poking myself in the eye with a brow pencil that I was using as eye liner.
But I digress.

The movie was such a charming story about being an outsider and finding a community that would accept you on your own terms. It was the perfect film for an insecure teenager.

These two movies were a joy to watch and I found myself working even harder.

If you need a little pick me up rent these two gems.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

