Hello! How are you today?

The craft show was an interesting venture.

I am by nature a shy person. Why then did I participate in a craft show? I had not interacted with a customer before this point. I wanted to know my strengths and weaknesses. Here is what I have learned.

First and foremost my strength was display and quality. Other than a few knitters who could not bear the idea of buying any knitted item I had several people come by to look at my table.

As far as weakness goes I had several slip ups:
-could not close the sale, which is to say I found myself saying the wrong thing or saying too much and scaring off a customer by trying too damn hard.

-humility, I was very quick to move away from my own price point. Even when a customer was about to purchase an item I would be quick to lower the price. Ugh.

-unbearably awkward, it got to the point where I was not sure if I was smiling or grimacing. I was not breezy or inviting but tired and desperate to pack up my table. Which was a shame because more people came by in the afternoon than earlier in the day.

I am not prepared to slink away. I am a stubborn cancer (astrology sign) which means that I am only going to keep on working.

First thing I need to get down pat is my pitch. Not necessarily some scary tactic to get people buy things…I mean quite simply I have to know my products better than I know my own name. I need to be able to describe the process of making every item.
I also need to stand up and get out from behind the table. It was as though the table was there to keep people at bay. Well that worked a little too well.

I also need to be myself. I am prone to talking too much, quick to smile and likely to chew your head off about some new tv show or a great sale at Target.

Good experience all around. Next time I will get some sleep and drink more coffee.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

