Break Some Rules

Netflix makes some good movies suggestions from time to time the best suggestions by far have been the high rating for both Dexter and Lost. I could not have agreed more with those reviews.

Their choice in horror movies have not been as helpful.

Either way each new selection is a bit of a hit or a miss. Which brings me to this movie, Carriers.

The basic structure of this movie is that people get infected, bleed out slowly and die in a feverish state. The film was hard for me to negotiate because the basic situations are too similar to 28 Days Later (awesome Danny Boyle movie).

The problem I have is two fold. One I don’t care about any of the people. Even the sick child, that later gets abandoned, the story makes time for no one so it is impossible to identify or feel sympathetic to anyone.

Second I love some apocalyptic films because by the end of the movie I appreciate my own life a little bit more.

This movie was dreary and it felt awkward to watch this band of survivors knowing that I would not have chosen these people to be the future (that is to say if they survive at all).

I didn’t find the film horrific. True there is gore. There is a creepy factor due to seeing bloody people lunge at the camera but all of this is amounts to cheap tricks.

I need to feel the fear in the dark of the night. I need to know that I won’t sleep soundly for a few days.

For now I have work to attend.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

